Press Release

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Announces Eamon Dolan Books

NEW YORK — Bruce Nichols, Senior Vice President and Publisher of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt’s Adult & Reference Division, announced today that Eamon Dolan is returning to HMH to launch an eponymous imprint of narrative and serious non-fiction titles.
Dolan will serve as V.P. and Editorial Director of Eamon Dolan Books, editing and publishing approximately ten titles per year.  He is leaving his position as V.P., Executive Editor at the Penguin Press in order to return to the house where he was previously Editor-in-Chief, and where he published such iconic bestsellers as Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Buzz Bissinger's 3 Nights in August, Jerome Groopman’s How Doctors Think, Richard Dawkins’s The God Delusion, and David Sheff’s Beautiful Boy.  He departed Houghton Mifflin for the Penguin Press in 2007.
“Eamon Dolan is one of the best editors in the industry, with a knack for publishing books that launch discussions that last for decades,” says Nichols. “He is also a wonderful colleague whose return is cause for joyous celebration.”
“I am thrilled to be rejoining the house where I published so many books that mean so much to me,” says Dolan. “And I’m eager to build a new list with the support of wise, passionate colleagues among whom are some of my dearest friends.”
Dolan will start at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt on Monday June 13th and will be based in the New York office.

About Houghton Mifflin Harcourt’s Trade & Reference Division
With nearly two-centuries of award-winning history, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Trade and Reference Division continues to produce some of the most renowned novels, children’s books and reference works in hardcover, paperback and electronic format including the Mariner Books line of trade paperbacks. Its distinguished author list includes eight Nobel Prize winners, 47 Pulitzer Prize winners, 13 National Book Award winners, and more than 100 Caldecott, Newbery, Printz, and Silbert Medal and Honor recipients. HMH publishes such distinguished authors as Philip Roth, Temple Grandin, Tim O'Brien, and Umberto Eco, as well as The Best American series®, The American Heritage® family of dictionaries, The Gourmet Cookbook® and other culinary classics, the Peterson Field Guides® and books by J.R.R. Tolkien. Along with a celebrated lineup of children’s authors, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children's Book Group is the publisher of some of the best-loved children's books including Curious George, The Little Prince, Martha Speaks, and The Polar Express. For more information, visit