Houghton Mifflin Harcourt to Publish Unprecedented Collection of Football's Greatest Moments, Officially Endorsed by the NFL

NEW YORK — With the National Football League players’ executive committee approval of the new labor deal and end of the four month-long lockout, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt is pleased to announce that the Company will publish 100 YARDS OF GLORY: The Greatest Moments in NFL History by Joe Garner and broadcast icon Bob Costas on November 8. Fully endorsed by the NFL, Garner and Costas’s new book is the first to capture the most unforgettable moments in the sport’s century-long league history. 

Legendary Hall of Fame quarterback Joe Montana penned the foreword and writes, “…when you are growing up, the love for your first team is ingrained in your heart, and it never really leaves you. That’s why I think this book will be so enjoyable to football fans. Whatever team, player, coach or particular game stands out in their minds, they are likely to find them all here and have the chance to relive their most treasured memories.”

A testament to football’s quintessential role in American culture, 100 YARDS OF GLORY covers the greatest dynasties, the best Super Bowls, the most improbable catches, the most amazing runs, quarterback greats, defensive greats, and coaching legends.  Each entry is accompanied by distinctive photographs drawn directly from the NFL’s extensive library.  Readers can relive David Tyree’s immaculate reception from Super Bowl 42, Roger Staubach’s invention of the Hail Mary, the negative temperatures from the 1967 Ice Bowl in Green Bay, and the magnificence of the iron curtain, also known as the 1970’s Steelers dynasty.  An original 10-part DVD documentary produced by an Emmy award-winning team will accompany the book, narrated by Costas and featuring original game footage, interviews, and other ancillary video straight from the NFL’s video library.  

About Houghton Mifflin Harcourt’s Trade & Reference Division
With nearly two-centuries of award-winning history, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt’s Trade and Reference Division continues to publish some of the most renowned novels, non-fiction, children’s books and reference works in hardcover, Mariner Books trade paperbacks and ebooks.  Its distinguished author list includes eight Nobel Prize winners, 47 Pulitzer Prize winners, 13 National Book Award winners, and more than 100 Caldecott, Newbery, Printz, and Silbert Medal and Honor recipients. HMH publishes such distinguished authors as Philip Roth, Temple Grandin, Tim O'Brien, and Umberto Eco, as well as The Best American series®, The American Heritage® family of dictionaries, The Gourmet Cookbook and other culinary classics, the Peterson Field Guides and books by J.R.R. Tolkien. Along with a celebrated lineup of children’s authors, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children's Book Group is the publisher of some of the best-loved children's books and book characters including Curious George, The Little Prince and The Polar Express. For more information, visit www.hmhbooks.com.