There's a Tiger in the Garden

by Lizzy Stewart
$17.99
1

A gorgeous and imaginative debut picture book by author/illustrator Lizzy Stewart, perfect for fans of Emily Hughes, Peter Brown, and Julie Morstad. 

 

There’s nothing to do at Grandma’s house and Nora refuses to believe any outlandish tales of dragonflies as big as birds, grumpy polar bears who like to fish, or a magnificent tiger all allegedly residing in Grandma’s garden. Nora's too old for silly games. But this charming picture book proves you are never too young or too old to dream--and adventure can find you when you least expect it.


  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9781328791832
  • ISBN-10: 1328791831
  • Pages: 40
  • Publication Date: 03/06/2018
  • Carton Quantity: 20

About the book

A gorgeous and imaginative debut picture book by author/illustrator Lizzy Stewart, perfect for fans of Emily Hughes, Peter Brown, and Julie Morstad. 

 

There’s nothing to do at Grandma’s house and Nora refuses to believe any outlandish tales of dragonflies as big as birds, grumpy polar bears who like to fish, or a magnificent tiger all allegedly residing in Grandma’s garden. Nora's too old for silly games. But this charming picture book proves you are never too young or too old to dream--and adventure can find you when you least expect it. 

 

When Grandma says she's seen a tiger in the garden, Nora doesn't believe her. She's too old to play Grandma's silly games! Everyone knows that tigers live in jungles, not gardens.  

 

So even when Nora sees dragonflies as big as birds, and plants that try to eat her toy giraffe, and a polar bear that likes fishing, she knows there's absolutely, DEFINITELY no way there could be a tiger in the garden . . .  

 

Could there?

About the author
Lizzy Stewart

Lizzy Stewart is an artist and illustrator living in London. She is one half of independent publishers Sing Statistics and an associate Lecturer at Goldsmiths College. Visit her on Instagram @Lizzy_Stewart.

Reviews

"An intriguing story to contemplate on several levels."--Booklist 

 

"A celebration of play and story sure to excite the imaginations of young readers and listeners."-Kirkus 

 

"First-time author-illustrator Stewart portrays the garden with a Rousseaulike lushness and fantasy."--Publishers Weekly 

 

"This British import reminds readers that boredom is just a state of mind and adventure awaits in outdoor play."--School Library Journal