The Suitcase

by Chris Naylor-Ballesteros
$17.99
1

A powerful story about immigration, trust, and new beginnings, full of heart and humanity, for anyone who has ever felt unwelcome or out of place. Perfect for fans of Allen Say, Francesca Sanna, and Yuyi Morales. 


  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358329602
  • ISBN-10: 0358329604
  • Pages: 32
  • Publication Date: 09/29/2020
  • Carton Quantity: 30

About the book

A powerful story about immigration, trust, and new beginnings, full of heart and humanity, for anyone who has ever felt unwelcome or out of place. Perfect for fans of Allen Say, Francesca Sanna, and Yuyi Morales.  

 

When a weary stranger arrives one day, with only a suitcase, everyone is full of questions: 

 

Why is he here? 

Where has he come from? 

And just what is in that suitcase? 

  

To learn the answers, they can either trust the newcomer or discover what they risk by not believing him.  

  

A story about hope and kindness, truth and perception—and most importantly, about how we treat those in need. 

 

"At a time when over 65 million people are forcibly displaced around the world, this beautifully illustrated and wise, gentle tale of tolerance and kindness for fellow humans resonates deeply. I hope all parents share The Suitcase with their children." - Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner 

  

"A simple, powerful way to introduce the idea of kindness to strangers to young children" - Axel Scheffler, illustrator of The Gruffalo 

 

About the author
Chris Naylor-Ballesteros

Chris Naylor-Ballesteros is a picture book creator who lives in France. Website: chrisnaylorballesteros.com Twitter: @Chris_Naylor_B

Reviews
"At a time when over 65 million people are forcibly displaced around the world, this beautifully illustrated and wise, gentle tale of tolerance and kindness for fellow humans resonates deeply. I hope all parents share The Suitcase with their children." - Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner 

  

"A simple, powerful way to introduce the idea of kindness to strangers to young children" - Axel Scheffler, illustrator of The Gruffalo 

 

★ "A heartwarming lesson in empathy and kindness."—Kirkus, STARRED review 

 

"Naylor’s designs truly bring life to the text, while the emotions of all the animals, especially the exhaustion of the stranger, is evident as they work through their feelings and come to understand one another. An accessible, beautiful story of trust and acceptance for every collection."—School Library Journal