The Story of Seeds: Our food is in crisis. What will you do to protect it?

by Nancy Castaldo
$10.99
1

In the spirit of Michael Pollen's Omnivore's Dilemma, The Story of Seeds is a timely work of nonfiction that reveals the loss of even the smallest seeds can have irreparable ramifications.


  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358120179
  • ISBN-10: 0358120179
  • Pages: 144
  • Publication Date: 01/14/2020
  • Carton Quantity: 50

About the book

Something as small as a seed can have a world-wide impact. As the world becomes more aware of the threats climate change, genetic modification, and deforestation has on the longevity of our natural resources, young readers must rally to preserve our food and world. Readers of Michael Pollen will thoroughly enjoy the depth and fascinatingly intricate social economy of seeds.  

 

 

About the author
Nancy Castaldo

Nancy Castaldo has been writing about the planet for decades. She's contributed to the Sierra Club Waste Paper, NRDC's Personal Action column, and others. She is the author of many STEM books including,  Sniffer Dogs: How Dogs (and Their Noses) Save the World, Back from The Brink: Saving Animals From Extinction, and Beastly Brains: Exploring How Animals Think, Talk, and Feel. She lives in New York's Hudson Valley. Visit her at nancycastaldo.com, on Twitter @NCastaldoAuthor, and on Instagram @naturespeak.

Reviews

National Science Teachers Association 2017 Top Science Trade Books for K-12 Students 

Nerdy Book Club Nerdies 2016 Longform Nonfiction 

Nonfiction Detectives: Best of 2016 

Northland College Young Adult Notable Book 

Green Earth Book Award – YA Nonfiction 2017 

Sigurd F. Olson Nature Writing Notable book  

 

* "A terrific, engrossing resource." Booklist, STARRED review  

 

"This eye-opening book on the science and politics of agriculture serves as a wake-up call to readers about the fragility of something many of us take for granted: our plant-based food supply. Castaldo clearly lays out a case for the importance of plant diversity (“Seeds equal life”), presenting engaging scientific and historical information..." —Horn Book Magazine  

 

"A topical blend of history, ecology, and social science, written in the tradition of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Castaldo (Sniffer Dogs) explains how seeds are fundamentally important to survival on Earth." - Publisher's Weekly 

 

"An impassioned call to action..." —School Library Journal  

 

"Castaldo delivers a sobering global status report—and a call to action...Well-crafted and inspiring."—Kirkus