The Red Book

by Barbara Lehman
$16.99
1

This Caldecott Honor–winning book about a book is a delightful, wordless tale about the power of stories, perfect for fans of Brendan Wenzel and David Weisner. 

 


  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780618428588
  • ISBN-10: 0618428585
  • Pages: 32
  • Publication Date: 09/27/2004
  • Carton Quantity: 50

About the book

This Caldecott Honor–winning book about a book is a delightful, wordless tale about the power of stories, perfect for fans of Brendan Wenzel and David Weisner. 

 

A red book is lying in the snow in the city. When you open it, you find a new kind of adventure. You will be taken across oceans and continents when you just flip the page. But this book-in-a-book holds even more secrets to discover. 

 

Lehman’s simple story line and surprising illustrations create an unexpectedly enchanting story about friendship, connectedness, and how stories can bring us together . . . and even bring us inside their pages.

About the author
Barbara Lehman

Barbara Lehman has illustrated many books for children, including The Red Book, which was awarded the Caldecott Honor in 2005. Born in Chicago, Barbara attended Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, where she earned a BFA in communication design. A full-time illustrator, Barbara says, "Books and art have always held the strongest attraction for me. I have always felt drawn to 'commercial art' because of its ability to reach many people. I like the idea of being part of the media in a meaningful and thoughtful way, especially with children as the audience." She lives in the Hudson Valley in upstate New York. Visit her website at www.barbaralehmanbooks.com.  

Reviews

Lehman's story captures the magical possibility that exists every time readers open a book.

School Library Journal, Starred

Simple, nicely drawn, and a friendly toast to the imagination.

Kirkus Reviews

The author's simply drawn art...is appropriate to a pleasing puzzle that will challenge young imaginations and intellects.

Horn Book