The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away

by Ronald Smith
$16.99
1

In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner Ronald L. Smith, twelve-year-old Simon thinks he was abducted by aliens. But is it real, or just his over-active imagination? Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Louis Sachar.


  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9781328841605
  • ISBN-10: 132884160X
  • Pages: 224
  • Publication Date: 02/19/2019
  • Carton Quantity: 24

About the book

In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner Ronald L. Smith, twelve-year-old Simon thinks he was abducted by aliens. But is it real, or just his over-active imagination? Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Louis Sachar. 

 

Twelve-year-old Simon is obsessed with aliens. The ones who take people and do experiments. When he's too worried about them to sleep, he listens to the owls hoot outside. Owls that have the same eyes as aliens—dark and foreboding. 

 

Then something strange happens on a camping trip, and Simon begins to suspect he’s been abducted. But is it real, or just the overactive imagination of a kid who loves fantasy and role-playing games and is the target of bullies and his father’s scorn? 

 

Even readers who don’t believe in UFOs will relate to the universal kid feeling of not being taken seriously by adults that deepens this deliciously scary tale.

About the author
Ronald Smith

Ronald L. Smith is the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award-winning author of Hoodoo, The Mesmerist, The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away, Gloom Town, and Black Panther: The Young Prince. He lives in Baltimore, Maryland. www.strangeblackflowers.com Twitter: @RonSmithbooks.

Reviews

“I hugged this book last night because I love Simon so much.” —Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Award-winning author of Hello, Universe 

 

"Smith (Hoodoo, 2015) continues to be one of the most distinct and impressive voices in middle-grade speculative fiction right now."--Booklist 

 

"An eerie and layered tale with a main character to which young readers will relate."--School Library Journal 

 

"CSK/Steptoe Award–winning author Smith (Hoodoo, rev. 9/15) crafts a tightly plotted novel full of suspense and compassion with a climax that will chill readers straight to the bone."--The Horn Book Magazine 

 

"A middle-grade X-Files primer."--Kirkus 

 

"The touching efficacy of this novel is in its showing rather than telling of a boy with the weight of multiple worlds—whether through the media or family or his own mind—placed squarely on his small shoulders."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books