Goodnight, Good Dog (padded board book with flocked cover)

by Mary Lyn Ray and Rebecca Malone
$8.99
1

Say goodnight to a good dog, in this padded board book with a touchable, flocked dog on the cover. For one restless pup the waking world is too full of wonder to leave behind at bedtime, until he closes his eyes and finds comfort in his dreams. In the tradition of Goodnight Moon, Mary Lyn Ray's warm and accessible storytelling celebrates the sights and sounds of the night to reassure young children at bedtime.


  • Format: Board Book
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9781328852427
  • ISBN-10: 1328852423
  • Pages: 30
  • Publication Date: 05/29/2018
  • Carton Quantity: 14

About the book

Say goodnight to a good dog, in this padded board book with a touchable, flocked dog on the cover. For one restless pup the waking world is too full of wonder to leave behind at bedtime, until he closes his eyes and finds comfort in his dreams. In the tradition of Goodnight Moon, Mary Lyn Ray's warm and accessible storytelling celebrates the sights and sounds of the night to reassure young children at bedtime. 

 

* "The pace of the page turns gently slows down as this good dog heads to his dreams. Goodnight, Good Dog. Sure to be shelved next to Goodnight Moon. It deserves that rarefied spot." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review 

 

For one restless pup the waking world is too full of wonder to leave behind at bedtime, until he closes his eyes and finds comfort in his dreams. Mary Lyn Ray's warm and accessible padded board book, now with a touch-and-feel dog on the cover, celebrates the sights and sounds of the night to reassure young children at bedtime. 

About the author
Mary Lyn Ray

Mary Lyn Ray has written many acclaimed books for children, including Go to Sleep, Little Farm, illustrated by Tricia Tusa; New York Times best-seller Stars, illustrated by Marla Frazee; Pumpkins, illustrated by Barry Root; and Red Rubber Boot Day and Mud, both illustrated by Lauren Stringer. She lives in South Danbury, New Hampshire. Visit her online at marylynray.com. 

Reviews

 

"Whether or not audiences catch the kidproxy echoes in the dog’s resistance to bedtime, they’ll be enchanted by the pooch’s dozy meanderings and eventual sleepy example." 

Bulletin, starred review 

 

"Ray’s pleasing text recreates the dog’s experiences without a wasted word. The illustrations expand the narrative and express its tone visually...A satisfying picture book that’s just right for bedtime reading." 

Booklist 

 

"This snuggly bedtime story shows the dog’s girl going happily and quickly to sleep while he pads restlessly about the house, creating a potentially empowering contrast for human bedtime resisters." 

School Library Journal 

 

* "The pace of the page turns gently slows down as this good dog heads to his dreams. Goodnight, Good Dog. Sure to be shelved next to Goodnight, Moon. It deserves that rarefied spot." 

Kirkus, starred review 

 

* "Ray...again proves herself a gifted writer, capable of highly distilled poetic prose that's beautifully accessible and allusive. Malone's bright acrylics, simple shapes, and minimalist detailing...are a terriffic match; her canine hero is endearingly eager." 

Publishers Weekly, starred review 

 

"This effective bedtime story reminds kids that fun will be had again when they wake—but first comes sleep." 

Horn Book