Go to Sleep, Little Farm padded board book

by Mary Lyn Ray and Christopher Neal
$8.99
1

In the tradition of Margaret Wise Brown, Mary Lyn Ray presents a hushed book about the rhythm of the natural world on a small farm as all creatures prepare for sleep. Artist Christopher Silas Neal's classic illustrations quiet even the most restless little night owls with familiar childlike imagery and the comforts of routine. This padded board book is perfect for sending any child off to sleep with sweet dreams.

 


  • Format: Board Book
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780544579163
  • ISBN-10: 054457916X
  • Pages: 38
  • Publication Date: 09/01/2015
  • Carton Quantity: 16

About the book

Somewhere a bee 

Makes a bed in a rose, 

Because the bee knows 

Day has come to a close.  

 

Nighttime blankets a little farm. An owl who-hoots. A bear curls up in a log. A mother fox calls her pups home to the den. But animals aren’t the only ones preparing to rest.

 

In the tradition of Margaret Wise Brown, with classically styled picture book illustrations and fresh, childlike imagery, this poetic bedtime book, as peaceful as it is warm, will wrap young ones in the comforts of routine. Soft covers, rounded corners, and sturdy board book pages make this padded edition the perfect bedtime companion. Now is the time for dreams.

 

About the author
Mary Lyn Ray

Mary Lyn Ray has written many acclaimed books for children, including Go to Sleep, Little Farm, illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal; New York Times best-seller Stars, illustrated by Marla Frazee and The Thank You Book, illustrated by Stephanie Graegin. She lives in South Danbury, New Hampshire.www.marylynray.com 

Christopher Neal

Christopher Silas Neal is a critically acclaimed artist and illustrator. He lives and works in Brooklyn, where he teaches illustration at the Pratt Institute. Visit csneal.com.

Reviews

* "Repeated, pleasingly surreal lines of verse convey the sense of drifting into slumber...a keeper." 

Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

"A quiet book for sharing in a cozy setting."

—School Library Journal 

 

"The blue-hued mixed-media illustrations soothingly depict a farm as it moves from dusk to night and bring a hush to the book—and no doubt its readers as well." 

Booklist