Emmy in the Key of Code

by Aimee Lucido
$16.99
1

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER.


  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780358040828
  • ISBN-10: 0358040825
  • Pages: 416
  • Publication Date: 09/24/2019
  • Carton Quantity: 24

About the book

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER. 

 

In a new city, at a new school, twelve-year-old Emmy has never felt more out of tune. Things start to look up when she takes her first coding class, unexpectedly connecting with the material—and Abigail, a new friend—through a shared language: music. But when Emmy gets bad news about their computer teacher, and finds out Abigail isn’t being entirely honest about their friendship, she feels like her new life is screeching to a halt. Despite these obstacles, Emmy is determined to prove one thing: that, for the first time ever, she isn’t a wrong note, but a musician in the world's most beautiful symphony.

About the author
Aimee Lucido

Aimee Lucido is a software engineer and diversity advocate at Uber and a graduate of Hamline's MFAC program. Women in technology is a subject close to her heart, and she brings this passion to the page. In her spare time, she does musical improv and writes crossword puzzles. She lives in San Francisco, CA.

Reviews

? "As Emmy learns Java, the language and structure of programming seep into her poems. Music and code interweave…. and readers will cheer to see them work collectively…to create something beautiful.”—Kirkus, STARRED review 

 

"Music, coding, strong female techie role models—this engaging first novel should attract a wide audience."—Booklist 

 

"This timely debut...champions girls in STEM and delivers a positive message about being 'always exactly yourself'....Through the author’s creative mesh of coding, music, poetry, and narrative, this story uniquely conveys the art and beauty that can be found in multiple disciplines.... relatable and relevant." —Publishers Weekly 

 

"This unusual tale seamlessly weaves basic computer coding concepts into a compelling story about middle schoolers struggling to forge their own identities in spite of the expectations of their families and society."—School Library Journal