CliffsNotes 1990s Newbery Medal Winners

by Suzanne Pavlos

  • Format: eBook
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780544179318
  • ISBN-10: 0544179315
  • Pages: 176
  • Publication Date: 03/07/2001

About the book

The original CliffsNotes study guides offer expert commentary on major themes, plots, characters, literary devices, and historical background. The latest generation of titles in this series also features glossaries and visual elements that complement the classic, familiar format.

The works covered in CliffsNotes 1990s Newbery Medal Winners are a reflection of the society in which they were written. A recurring theme in the novels that won the Newbery Medal Award in the 1990s, regardless of the time period in which they were set, is the interdependence of people. Other significant themes that appear as a common thread are friendship and family, courage and bravery, and the dilemmas of adolescents struggling to become adults.

With plenty of background information about each author, plot synopses, character maps, and in-depth analysis of characters and themes CliffsNotes 1990s Newbery Medal Winners is your ticket to understanding and enjoying all of the following novels:

  • Holes, by Louis Sachar
  • Out of the Dust, by Karen Hesse
  • The View from Saturday, by Elaine Lobl Konigsburg
  • The Midwife’s Apprentice, by Karen Cushman
  • Walk Two Moons, by Sharon Creech
  • The Giver, by Lois Lowry
  • Missing May, by Cynthia Rylant
  • Shiloh, by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
  • Maniac Magee, by Jerry Spinelli
  • Number the Stars, by Lois Lowry

Classic literature or modern-day treasure—you'll understand it all with expert information and insight from CliffsNotes study guides.

About the author
Suzanne Pavlos

SUZANNE PAVLOS taught high school English and reading. She is a freelance writer and editor.