Cheer Up, Mouse!-9780547681078

Cheer Up, Mouse!

by Jed Henry
$12.99
1

In this $12.99 picture book, Mouse’s friends have a brilliantly simple idea on how to cheer him up. Jed Henry’s sweet illustrations swing readers up and down alongside Mouse, and with his verse, to arrive at the charming conclusion. Perfect for anyone – young or old – who needs a pick-me-up, this emotive picture book is sure to warm hearts.


  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/EAN: 9780547681078
  • ISBN-10: 0547681070
  • Pages: 32
  • Publication Date: 01/15/2013
  • Carton Quantity: 40

About the book

Mouse feels lower than low. His forest friends, including Badger, Hedgehog, Rabbit, and Mole all knock themselves out trying to cheer up the little guy, to no avail. In the end, all Mouse really needs is a hug! Jed Henry’s wonderful illustrations, in watercolor pastels and colored pencils, beautifully complement the spare text. Readers will love seeing all the exuberant animal antics in trees, ponds, and even underground tunnels as they try to distract their gloomy friend. A charming antidote for the blues.

About the author
Jed Henry

Jed Henry has always had an affinity for animals. As a child, he preferred zoos to museums, and Shark Week was more fun than Christmas. Now that he’s mostly grown up, Jed still loves animals. His favorite critters are his two little girls, who are about as wild as they come. Jed Henry has published with many publishers including Harper Collins, Simon and Schuster, and Penguin. He illustrated the NYT Bestselling Can't Wait Till Christmas, written by Mike Huckabee, published in October 2010. In February 2011, he published Pick a Pup by Marsha Wilson Chall with Margaret K. McElderry Books. Jed lives by the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, in Provo, Utah. This is his first book with Houghton Mifflin. Visit Jed Henry's blog at http://jedart.blogspot.com and while your on the web, visit his official website, too, at www.jedhenry.com.

Reviews

"The emotional pitch is just right."

Publishers Weekly

"The 'Cheer Up, Mouse!' refrain and winsome illustrations carry the day."

Horn Book

"Simple and satisfying."

Kirkus

"A solid story about friendship that is sure to cheer readers."

School Library Journal

"Youngsters will enjoy the simple phrases and delightful illustrations . . . Perfect for fans of Dori Chaconas' One Little Mouse."

Booklist

"This might be fun to partner with Alborough's Hug and/or Schmid's Hugs from Pearl for a squeeze-filled storytime."

Bulletin