Death and the Sun: A Matador's Season in the Heart of Spain

by Edward Lewine

In the tradition of Hemingway's Death in the Afternoon, Edward Lewine presents an inspired account of bullfighting culture in modern-day Spain. Lewine brilliantly captures the romance and machismo associated with the art of bullfighting, as well as the addictive adrenaline rush that persistently beckons spectators and matadors to the bullring. He spends a season traveling with the celebrated matador Francesco Rivera Ordonez -- the great-grandson of the bullfighter who was the inspiration for Hemingway's Pedro Romero in The Sun Also Rises -- and reveals a Spain few outsiders have seen. Death and the Sun is an illuminating portrayal of a country, its people, and their passion for this beautiful yet deadly spectacle.

  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780618872305
  • ISBN-10: 0618872302
  • Pages: 272
  • Publication Date: 05/01/2007
  • Carton Quantity: 24

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Author
  • About the Book
    In the tradition of Hemingway's Death in the Afternoon, Edward Lewine presents an inspired account of bullfighting culture in modern-day Spain. Lewine brilliantly captures the romance and machismo associated with the art of bullfighting, as well as the addictive adrenaline rush that persistently beckons spectators and matadors to the bullring. He spends a season traveling with the celebrated matador Francesco Rivera Ordonez -- the great-grandson of the bullfighter who was the inspiration for Hemingway's Pedro Romero in The Sun Also Rises -- and reveals a Spain few outsiders have seen. Death and the Sun is an illuminating portrayal of a country, its people, and their passion for this beautiful yet deadly spectacle.

  • About the Author
  • Excerpts
  • Reviews
×