With Malice

by Eileen Cook

For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive, compulsive read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend--only what if the accident wasn't an accident?

  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780544805095
  • ISBN-10: 0544805097
  • Pages: 320
  • Publication Date: 06/07/2016
  • Carton Quantity: 24

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Author
Excerpts
Reviews
  • About the Book
    For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life.  

     

    Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron's senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

     
     
  • About the Author
  • Excerpts

    CHAPTER ONE

    Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep.

    I’m not a morning person. Understatement. 

         My hand couldn’t seem to muster the energy to turn off the alarm. It picked at the covers. The blanket felt wrong. Scratchy. Thin. 

         This isn’t my bed. 

         The realization made me uneasy. I must have crashed somewhere else. I hoped I’d remembered to call my mom. I felt a ripple of worry. If not, I was going to be in deep shit for not coming home. She was already mad about . . . 

         My brain was blank. I couldn’t remember why she was ticked at me. I remembered fighting about it. I’d slammed my door, and Mom threatened if I did that again, she’d take it off the hinges, but the reason why we’d argued was gone. 

         It felt like the reason was right on the tip of my tongue, but I couldn’t pin it down. Every time I tried to concentrate, it slipped away. 

         Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep. 

         Most annoying alarm ever. It sounded only half awake, a slow, quiet beeping, just loud enough to make it impossible to ignore. All I wanted was to go back to sleep. 

         I was exhausted. Even my skin was tired, like I was stretched too thin. 

         I swallowed and winced at how dry my throat was. I don’t remember partying last night. What the hell did I drink? My stomach did a barrel roll. I made myself concentrate on not throwing up. Simone must have talked me into doing shots. She was the captain of bad decisions. I told myself I wasn’t scared, but it was weird that I couldn’t remember. What if someone had slipped me something? My mom had sent me an article on roofies, and I’d rolled my eyes, thinking she worried about stuff that was never going to happen, but now it didn’t seem so stupid. 

         Don’t freak out. You’re fine. Just figure out where you are. 

         I forced my eyes open. They felt gritty, like I’d rolled them in sand before popping them into my skull. It was too bright in the room. It was hard to make anything out clearly. There was a window with the blinds up and bright sunshine blasting in. Like it was afternoon instead of early morning. 

         Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep. 

         I turned my head to see the alarm, but as soon as I moved, there was a shot of pain, sharp, like a dental drill, driving into my brain. I moaned and my vision blurred. 

         I blinked and realized it wasn’t a clock. It was some kind of machine. Plastic tubing connected it to me, pooling over the rail of the bed, leading to a needle that was stuck to the back of my hand with clear medical tape that made my skin look wrinkled and old. 

         I was in a hospital. 

         My heart skipped a few beats. Something bad had happened. Hospital bad. 

         “Are you going to stay with us this time?” 

         I turned very slowly, trying to avoid a repeat of the pain in my head. A woman leaned over. She was wearing bright yellow scrubs. A stethoscope draped around her neck. It looked almost like a . . . The word skipped out of my head. Gone. I tried to focus, it was like a . . . serpent. That wasn’t the right word, but I couldn’t think of it. Thinking about it was making my headache worse. I opened my mouth to ask her what the right word was, but nothing came out. My heart raced and I clenched my hands into fists over and over. 

         “Just relax,” she said. She pressed the back of her cool hand to my forehead. “You’re okay.” 

         I could tell that nothing about this situation was okay, but I didn’t want to be difficult. She seemed really nice. You could tell by her eyes. That’s one of my abilities. To judge someone’s character by their eyes. The window to the soul, as Big Bill Shakespeare would say. I wrote an essay on that quote last year and won a writing contest from the school district. It had only a fifty-buck award, along with a certificate “suitable for framing.” I acted like it was no big deal, but I was actually really proud. 

         “ . . . you are?” 

         I blinked. I’d missed what she said. She was going to think I was rude. She stared at me, waiting for an answer. I swallowed again. I would have sold my soul for one of those cold, sweaty bottles of Dasani from the vending machine by the gym. 

         “Okay, let’s try something else. Do you know your name?” she asked. 

         Was she kidding? Did I know my name. Didn’t she know who she was talking to? National Merit Scholar. Perfect score in Ms. Harmer’s chemistry class, first time in school history. State debate champion and an almost certain shoo-in for our class valedictorian, as long as Eugene Choo didn’t pull ahead. Not that I’m rooting for the guy to fail, but if he got an occasional 89 instead of 100 on a paper, I wouldn’t weep a thousand tears. 

         Know my own name? This one I got. 

         “Jill,” I croaked. My voice sounded like I smoked a few packs a day and gargled with gravel. 

         She smiled widely and I felt the absurd rush of pride I always experienced when I got a question right. I really had to work on my need to be such a pleaser. You’d think I wouldn’t always demand validation. Simone’s always on me for that. 

         Simone was going to freak when she heard I was in the hospital. She’d bring me new PJs from Pink so I wouldn’t have to wear this disgusting hospital gown that probably was last worn by some incontinent old man. Or someone who died in it. 

         Gross. 

         Simone would also bring a stack of her favorite trashy magazines. She’d make me move over so she could sit on the edge of the bed, and we’d take a photo she could put online. Things would be better when she got here. Simone had that effect on people. She’d make this an adventure. My throat seized, and I was suddenly sure I was about to start crying. I wanted her there so badly my chest ached. 

         “I’m going to get the doctor,” the nurse said. “A lot of people are going to be glad to see you back with us.” 

         I started to nod, but the pain came again when I moved my head, so I stopped. I closed my eyes when she left the room. It was good to be back. 

         I just wished I knew where I’d been.

    “Knock-knock.” 

         There was a sharp prick of pain in my foot. My eyes snapped open. A guy in a white lab coat stood at the end of my bed. Before I could say anything, he jabbed the arch of my foot with a large pin. 

         WTF? 

         “Do

  • Reviews
    An Entertainment Weekly “Seriously Scary Summer Read” 

     

    "A creepy, satisfying thriller..." 

    –Entertainment Weekly  

     

    "This multimedia project is a perfect thriller to stow in your beach bag.” 

    –TeenVogue.com 

     

    "Prepare for lots of twists, right up until the very last chapter." 

    –Seventeen.com 

     

    “[A] page-turning psychological thriller.” 

    –Bustle.com  

     

    "For those who like a suspenseful and riveting novel.” 

    –Glitter Guide  

     

    “This book will have you turning pages as you try and decide what you believe and who you can trust.” 

    –Parade.com  

     

    * "Cinematic scene breaks and propulsive reveals will keep the pages furiously turning in this slow-burning but explosive thriller." 

    –Booklist, STARRED review 

     

    "[With Malice] is a page-turner, and the ending is unsettling—let the reader beware." 

    –VOYA 

     

    "A solid thriller that will leave readers guessing until the very last page." 

    –School Library Journal 

     

    "Cook believably portrays the struggles of girl who had it all and is left to pick up the pieces of a life she isn’t sure is hers." 

    –Publishers Weekly 

     

    "The hoopla surrounding the accident is played well, reminiscent of the real-life Amanda Knox trial. Jill's past-tense narration is complemented by Justice for Simone blog posts, police transcripts, text messages, email, Facebook comments, and Crime Watch episodes, through which details of their frenemy-ship and what might've happened emerge." 

    –Kirkus 

     

    "The story is twisty, well-written, and so powerful that I felt as though I was reading about a true crime. Is there anything more complex or vicious than a teen girl? Especially one with secrets."–Chevy Stevens NYT Bestselling author Still Missing and Those Girls 

     

    "Some books you read and forget immediately. Some you finish and want to start again immediately. This is one of the latter. Staggeringly smart, just enough sexy, and virtually seamless."–Terra Elan McVoy, author of Edgar Finalist, Criminal 

×