Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Just Grace and the Double Surprise

by Charise Harper


In the seventh installment to the Just Grace Series, Grace and her best friend Mimi can't wait for Mimi's adopted little sister to arrive. But when the baby comes, it's not a sister at all . . . it's a boy!

This sweet, comical story builds upon the delightful adventures of Grace, a curious and well-meaning third grader who occasionally gets into a little bit of trouble.

Format: Paperback
ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780547942193
ISBN-10: 0547942192
Pages: 176
Publication Date: 10/02/2012
Carton Quantity: 24
Grade Level: 1,2,3,4
Age Range: 6,7,8,9


"Girls who are settling into chapter book series...will love the fast pace and familiar school and family situations."--Horn Book

The latest paperback in the Just Grace series, finds Grace’s best friend in the whole world, Mimi, on the verge of getting a brand-new sister. Grace is really excited, plus nervous, plus worried, plus happy all mixed together. But both Grace and Mimi are in for a surprise when they find out that Mimi’s family is not adopting a brand-new sister—and instead she is getting a brand-new brother. (Oh, brother!) And to heighten the excitement even further, Grace is in for a big surprise of her very own... Readers will be just as curious as Grace to find out what it is! 

Charise Harper

Charise Mericle Harper is the author and illustrator of many books for children, including the Just Grace series. In a starred review, Booklist called Just Grace "Hilarious," and said, "The kids come alive in the story, and Harper enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Give this to . . . anyone looking for a funny book." Charise lives in Westchester County, New York. Visit her website at www.chariseharper.com and visit Just Grace's website at www.justgracebooks.com, where you'll find all sorts of fun things, including videos, quizzes, and information about all the Just Grace books. Read More





Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu on our Fall 2010 list

Just Grace and the Snack Attack

"New characters, such as the hyperactive "Owen 1," keep the story fresh, but readers will most enjoy Grace's angst-ridden first-person narrative, delivered with her usual comic touch. Cartoon illustrations (and directions for creating a zine) enliven the text and help to showcase Grace's artistic talent." --Booklist

"[R]eaders will appreciate her straightforward, honest discussion of strong emotions they'll be sure to relate to." --Horn Book

Just Grace Goes Green

"Girls who are settling into chapter book series featuring Clementine and Judy Moody will love the fast pace and familiar school and family situations. . . . Harper’s sketches add interest and break up the text, leaving the new reader time to pause and smile. "-Horn Book

Just Grace Walks the Dog

"Grace’s cartoon illustrations and charts enliven the conversational, first-person text. . .Her ruminations about the ways that people—and animals—may not be what they seem will provide both entertainment and food for thought for a wide range of readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"Harper has created a quick enjoyable read in this third 'Grace' book."—Library Media Connection


Still Just Grace

"Harper's strength is her understanding of third-grade angst...she explores with a comic touch...Suggest this reassuring look at friendship and family to fans of Judy Moody and Clementine." —Booklist

"Dealing with the problems of friendship and change in a lively way...a good addition to the middle-grade shelves." —School Library Journal

Just Grace

Booksense Summer Selection 2007

"The kids come alive in the story, and Harper, the author of several previous books, including the graphic novel Fashion Kitty (2005), enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Equally delightful is the wry voice of energetic Just Grace, who never misses an opportunity to point out the injustices life has dealt her. She’s a hero through and through. Give this to fans of Ann Nagda’s Meow Means Mischief (2003) or anyone looking for a funny book." —Booklist, starred review

"Grace is a funny, mischievous protagonist who should easily find a place in the pantheon of precocious third graders. Fans of Amber Brown, Clementine, and Judy Moody will love her." —School Library Journal