Just Grace and the Double Surprise

by Charise Harper

  • Format: eBook
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780547573861
  • ISBN-10: 0547573863
  • Pages: 176
  • Publication Date: 08/01/2011
  • Carton Quantity: 1

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Author
Reviews
  • In this seventh installment in the Just Grace series, any day now Grace’s best friend in the whole world, Mimi, is going to be getting a brand-new sister. Grace is really excited, plus nervous, plus worried, plus happy all mixed together. But both Grace and Mimi are in for a surprise when they find out that Mimi’s family is not adopting a brand-new sister—and instead she is getting a brand-new brother. (Oh, brother!) And to heighten the excitement even further, Grace is in for another big surprise!




  • Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu on our Fall 2010 list

    Just Grace and the Snack Attack

    "New characters, such as the hyperactive "Owen 1," keep the story fresh, but readers will most enjoy Grace's angst-ridden first-person narrative, delivered with her usual comic touch. Cartoon illustrations (and directions for creating a zine) enliven the text and help to showcase Grace's artistic talent." --Booklist

    "[R]eaders will appreciate her straightforward, honest discussion of strong emotions they'll be sure to relate to." --Horn Book

    Just Grace Goes Green

    "Girls who are settling into chapter book series featuring Clementine and Judy Moody will love the fast pace and familiar school and family situations. . . . Harper’s sketches add interest and break up the text, leaving the new reader time to pause and smile. "-Horn Book

    Just Grace Walks the Dog

    "Grace’s cartoon illustrations and charts enliven the conversational, first-person text. . .Her ruminations about the ways that people—and animals—may not be what they seem will provide both entertainment and food for thought for a wide range of readers."—Kirkus Reviews

    "Harper has created a quick enjoyable read in this third 'Grace' book."—Library Media Connection


    Still Just Grace

    "Harper's strength is her understanding of third-grade angst...she explores with a comic touch...Suggest this reassuring look at friendship and family to fans of Judy Moody and Clementine." —Booklist

    "Dealing with the problems of friendship and change in a lively way...a good addition to the middle-grade shelves." —School Library Journal

    Just Grace

    Booksense Summer Selection 2007

    "The kids come alive in the story, and Harper, the author of several previous books, including the graphic novel Fashion Kitty (2005), enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Equally delightful is the wry voice of energetic Just Grace, who never misses an opportunity to point out the injustices life has dealt her. She’s a hero through and through. Give this to fans of Ann Nagda’s Meow Means Mischief (2003) or anyone looking for a funny book." —Booklist, starred review

    "Grace is a funny, mischievous protagonist who should easily find a place in the pantheon of precocious third graders. Fans of Amber Brown, Clementine, and Judy Moody will love her." —School Library Journal