The Elementals

by Saundra Mitchell

In this suspenseful companion to The Vespertine and The Springsweet, the teenage children of the characters in the previous novels—bohemian film maker Kate and disabled but determined Julian—embrace their true selves and their paranormal powers in Hollywood circa 1917.  

  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780544302396
  • ISBN-10: 0544302397
  • Pages: 304
  • Publication Date: 04/08/2014
  • Carton Quantity: 24

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Author
Excerpts
Reviews
  • About the Book
    Kate Witherspoon has lived a bohemian life with her artist parents. In 1917, the new art form of the motion picture is changing entertainment—and Kate is determined to become a director.

    Meanwhile, midwestern farm boy Julian Birch has inherited the wanderlust that fueled his parents' adventures. A childhood bout with polio has left him crippled, but he refuses to let his disability define him.

    Strangers driven by a shared vision, Kate and Julian set out separately for Los Angeles. When they finally meet, the teenage runaways realize their true magical legacy: the ability to triumph over death, over time. But as their parents before them learned, all magic comes with a price.

  • About the Author
  • Excerpts
    Chicago, Illionois 1893

    Prologue
    Ordinary girls are untroubled by destiny.
       Unfortunately, neither amelia van den Broek nor Zora Stewart Birch was entirely ordinary. they leaned against the dining counter, watching the whole of the world grow smaller as they rose into the air on the great Ferris wheel.
       Incandescent bulbs twinkled all around them, captured stars that illuminated the car and its sparse elegance. Seats with velvet cushions and wire backs filled the gallery, lazily spinning with no one to sit in them.
       Tearing off a bit of fried dough, amelia pointed toward a white-columned building in the distance and said, “That one right there. You should go look at the murals; I helped paint them.”
       “How many talents do you have, amelia?” Zora asked.
       With a snort, amelia popped the dough into her mouth and said, “Too many. I see the future, I rise from the dead, I’m forever not strangling Nathaniel.”
       “So your temper’s improved.”
       Amelia laughed. “Hardly. I quarrel instead of strangle, and he does the same.”
       Her eyes trailed to the corner of the car. Her Nathaniel leaned against the wall, talking to Emerson, entirely ignoring the view outside the window. He could travel on the wind; he had a sick and regular habit of jumping from heights for the thrill of it. Seeing chicago and its World’s Fair from a locked car didn’t interest him in the least.
       After a moment, Zora pressed a finger against amelia’s nose, then laughed at her dazed expression when she tore her gaze away.
       “You’re such a liar,” Zora said, marveling. “You’re still mad for him.”
       “I am, I admit.”
       “Good,” Zora said. “We needed one good thing to come from all that.”
       In reply, amelia kicked Zora’s foot and let that speak for itself. I have you, it said. And you have me as well.
       “Mean,” Zora said, then clutched the counter. She wasn’t sure she liked the view from this distance, and when the car swung ever so slightly, she startled. it turned out that she was a ground-beneath-the-feet sort of girl. Skyscrapers didn’t interest her, and she had learned to dislike the crush of cities. even though darkness mostly disguised chicago that night, it made little difference.
       Toward the east, thin fingers of lightning stroked the sky. it was a storm so removed, it seemed more decoration than threat.
       Amelia frowned at it. then she asked, “Does it worry you?”
       “Not especially.” Smoothing a hand down amelia’s sleeve, Zora smiled. “I’m not in the middle of it; I didn’t command it. So I think it has better things to strike.”
       They’d had days to unburden themselves, to make confessions and share new secrets. they’d spent hours acting like children, spending pennies on Magic lantern shows and sneaking into the opera, riding the train together, perched on top.
       Pretending this visit would last forever, Zora would still sometimes grow sober and exchange a look with amelia. a room was different when four of them shared it. Not bad, but not right, as if everything trembled on the edge of explosion.
       Amelia smiled crookedly. She felt the balance shifting and tried to cling to her best friend just a little longer. “I’ve been thinking. We could be the most remarkable wonder of the world if we wanted. a full circus, contained in four bodies.”
       “We could call ourselves the Glorious elements,” Zora agreed. it would never happen, but they could spin fables about it.
       “Barnum and Bailey would beg us to travel with them.” Spreading her hands out, Zora imagined the headlines. “A spectacle for the ages, see the gifts of the ancients performed before your very eyes.”
       “We’d be world famous!”
       “And rich!”
       Throwing her arms around amelia, Zora pressed their brows together. in a sudden, quiet confession, she said, “It frightens me sometimes, the things we can do.”
       “The only reason it doesn’t frighten me,” amelia confided, “Is that I refuse to look anymore.”
       Zora loosened her grip a bit. “I’ll look, but I won’t call it.”
       “Is Emerson careful?”
       “Oh yes.” Zora caught a glimpse of Emerson sprawled in one of the plush seats. He rubbed his own knees idly, his face turned up to listen as Nathaniel held forth. “It would be easy to ruin good land if he weren’t thoughtful. Between us, I’m the reckless one.”
       Dark eyes lighting up, amelia laughed. “Which means you’re both ridiculously steady. Practically dull, even.”
       “I resent that,” Zora said. “I stole a horse once!”
       “Once!”
       Falling quiet, they held tight as the wheel finally crested its greatest height. the fair below was nothing but bright sparks of electric light. chicago was a silhouette against the distant storm. in that quiet, crystallized moment, trembling in the sky, caged in glass, they both feared this was the end for them.
       Zora was married; amelia planned to never be. One settled, the other wild, there was no reason for them to meet again. they would have to tend their friendship carefully if they wanted to keep it.
       Interrupting them, Nathaniel tucked his yellow handkerchief back into his pocket and held out a hand. “We should go before the rain catches us.”
       Amelia squeezed Zora once more, then turned to whisper in her ear. “Promise me this won’t be the end.”
       Shaking her head, Zora pulled back to meet her gaze. “I swear it.”
       Coming to join them, Emerson slipped an arm around Zora’s shoulders. “Good to meet you,” he said, and he meant it in an abstract sort of way.
       The car was empty save for their little group, so Nathaniel didn’t bother with discretion. He unlocked the door, opening the car to the night sky. they still dangled above the fair, all its white lights miniature and blinking below them. Pulling amelia close, Nathaniel nodded his goodbyes. then he twisted the wind and they jumped. they disappeared, swallowed by the signature of Nathaniel’s magic: the black void and gold stars.
       From without, Zora and Emerson stared at a space that was simply, suddenly unoccupied. the explosive edge to their meeting faded, and Emerson relaxed. Brushing a kiss against Zora’s hair, he held her tight when she curled toward him. “Was it a good visit?”
       “Yes,” Zora replied. She closed her eyes and pressed her face against his shirt, breathing him in until the ache inside her faded. the hum of gears filled her ears, her skin prickling with the heat she drew from Emerson’s body.
       Somewhere in Washington Park, amelia and Nathaniel stood beneath the glow of a phosphorescent lamp. trees whispered around them,...

  • Reviews

    PRAISE FOR THE ELEMENTALS

    "A sumptuous read, as bittersweet as it is beautiful."—Aprilynne Pike, New York Times bestselling author of Wings and Spells

     

    "Saundra Mitchell pulls off a thrilling conclusion to a mesmerizing series! She just gets better and better!"—Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series

     

    "Mitchell convincingly portrays the glittering, raucous L.A. of the burgeoning movie industry and the oppressive unease of looming war."—Booklist

     

     

    PRAISE FOR THE VESPERTINE

    "[A] richly conceived historical romance. . . . Fans of Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty will find themselves enchanted by this atmospheric tale."—Bulletin

     

    "Equal parts vivid period detail, gothic melodrama, and foreboding premonitions coming true . . . an absorbing tale."—Booklist

     

    "Written in a passionate, inviting voice, The Vespertine is a rich, historical novel of otherworldly power, forbidden romance, and questionable motives."—Aprilynne Pike, New York Times bestselling Author of Wings and Spells

     

    "Sheer pleasure from beginning to end."—TeenReads.com

     

    "I savored every word of The Vespertine; I knew it was an amazing book from the first page and I was entranced until the very last."—Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series

     

     

    PRAISE FOR THE SPRINGSWEET

    "A lovely historical romance. . . . The author conjures a convincing picture of life on the Oklahoma prairie, painting an absorbing portrait of the landscape and of the people there. . . . A high-quality, absorbing drama."—Kirkus Reviews

     

    "The Springsweet will steal your heart. Zora is a wounded heroine who had me cheering as she rediscovers the strength she thought she'd lost. Blend in a smoldering, yet refreshingly subtle hero, and add a twist of magic and you have a perfect romance in the Old West with another of Saundra Mitchell's signature rich and nuanced historic settings!"—Aprilynne Pike, New York Times bestselling author of Wings and Spells

     

    "I didn't think YA historicals could get better than The Vespertine. The Springsweet proved me wrong. This is a gorgeous, unputdownable book that will stay with you long after it's through. Saundra Mitchell just gets better and better."—Sarah MacLean, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake

     

    "With Saundra Mitchell’s trademark evocative and gorgeous language, The Springsweet takes us across the plains, where the people thirst for love just as the land thirsts for water. I never wanted this book to end!"—Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series

×