A Sky Full of Stars

by Linda Jackson

Available 01/02/2018

In 1955 Mississippi, racial tensions are coming to a boil. As a thirteen-year-old African American girl, Rose Lee Carter struggles to understand her place in the burgeoning Civil Rights Movement. This powerful coming-of-age story from the author of Midnight Without a Moon will enlighten and enchant readers and is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Sharon M. Draper.

  • Format: Hardcover
  • ISBN-13/ EAN: 9780544800656
  • ISBN-10: 0544800656
  • Pages: 320
  • Publication Date: 01/02/2018
  • Carton Quantity: 24

Also available in:

About the Book
About the Author
Reviews
  • About the Book
    After the murder of Emmett Till, thirteen-year-old Rose is struggling with her decision to stay in Mississippi. Torn between the opinions of Shorty, a boy who wants to meet violence with violence, and Hallelujah, her best friend who believes in the power of peaceful protests, Rose is scared of the mounting racial tension and is starting to lose hope. But when Rose helps Aunt Ruthie start her own business, she begins to see how she can make a difference in her community. Life might be easier in the North, but Mississippi is home and that's worth fighting for. Mid-Century Mississippi comes alive in this sequel to Midnight Without a Moon.
     
  • About the Author
  • Excerpts
  • Reviews
    "Filled with teachable moments that are perfect for modern-day discussions of race and justice, this is also a story about the complexities of family and choices." –Kirkus 

     

    "There is also much inspiration to be found in Rosa’s resilience and her determination to make something good of her life and not leave her beloved South for a “safer” part of the country. Jackson presents a raw and frank look at what growing up in the deep South during Jim Crow was really like. A powerful and well-crafted novel that will spark deep discussion of this era in U.S. history— and its contemporary repercussions." –School Library Journal 

     

     

    Praise for Midnight Without a Moon: 

    "This nuanced coming-of-age story by a debut author is deftly delivered, with engaging characters set against a richly contextualized backdrop of life for African Americans during the Jim Crow era. It’s also an authentic work of historical fiction (supported by Southern vernacular in both dialogue and vocabulary that accurately reflects the era) about a pivotal incident in the civil rights movement."—Horn Book 

     

    "Jackson pulls no punches in the characters’ heated discussions and keeps dialogue raw and real..." —Bulletin 

     

    "Jackson’s debut does an excellent job dramatizing the injustice that was epidemic in the pre–civil rights South and capturing the sounds and sensibilities of that time and place. Her sympathetic characters and their stories will make this thoughtful book especially good for classroom use."—Booklist 

     

    "A powerful story."—Kirkus 

      

    Midnight Without a Moon offers readers an unflinching bird's eye view of 1955 Mississippi.  Young Rose Lee has one foot steeped in the segregated South and the other in the new world where Negroes and girls are expecting more, doing more, and willing to risk all to live lives of their own choosing.  Bravo to Jackson, for a magnificent piece of writing!” —Sharon G. Flake, Coretta Scott King Award winning author of Unstoppable Octobia May and The Skin I'm In 

      

    “Rose shines bright in the darkness -- brave, beautiful, and full of hard-won hope. She'll be an inspiration to every reader who meets her, as she has been to me.” –Caroline Starr Rose, author of May B and Blue Birds

×